Establishished 1903

Morrisburg Curling Club
22 Ontario Street
Morrisburg  ON   K0C 1X0

The little rockers hosted the OVCA zone 1 playoffs this past weekend with teams from Metcalfe, Russell, the R.C.M.P. and Winchester. The two top teams go to the Regional finals in Ottawa at the Rideau Curling Club on March 25. Our Morrisburg team: Rhiannon Beckstead, Debbie Milewski and Hannah Gibbons dominated the competition, winning all three games. They did not have a single point scored against them, taking first place. The other entrant in the finals was a different matter, with R.C.M.P., Winchester and Russell very close. Finally, by one point, Russell won out, to join Morrisburg, who will add Alexis Grenkie to complete their foursome. Good luck, ladies.

The Hughie Hutchinson Funspiel was held on Wednesday, with eight teams registered. “Fun” is an accurate description of the event, the brainchild this year of Dave King. In the 3rd to 5th “regular” ends the curlers rotated positions, so that every curler had a chance to skip. The resultant calls and shots were often hilarious, and probably resulted in a new-found respect for the challenges a skip faces. For three of the ends, such tests as trying to have your rock closest to a “bocce” when the end finished, the “envelope game” in which you read the demands imposed by the organizer and try to comply, and the “takeout game”, another novel task that’s hard to explain, and harder for the curlers to figure out. We’re not sure who’s looking after the event next year, but it’ll be hard act to follow. The fellows enjoyed their lunch, and, in general, enjoyed their day. Last year’s champion foursome, Mahlon Locke, Doug Jarvis, Paul Dobry and John Gove, did not repeat, though they curled well. Jacques Marquis, Dave Salmon, Chuck Irvine and Lynn Loucks got their names on the trophy as this year’s champs. Hopefully we have all the names of competitors right, although with seniors’ travel and holidays, there seemed to be some shifting of team members.

Also on Saturday, we had a team entered in the Prescott invitational bonspiel. Alice Thompson, Kelly Friedrich, Nelda Hickman and Mary Campbell dropped their first game to a Brockville foursome followed by a delicious Irish luncheon. In their afternoon match, they fought a see-saw battle with a Prescott team, but dropped that one also. A quartet from Kingston was the overall winner. At the conclusion, each of the players received a beautiful Irish spoon. Our players enjoyed the day, and hope to return next year.

Also, we had one team entered in the Ladies’ Curling Association competition. Their first match was in Manotick. Greta McGann, Kathy Norg, Joan MacKinnon, and Penny Charlebois were our representatives. We’ll have the results next time.

Finally, this is the third year for the Sponsors’ bonspiel. It’s a fun competition for our sponsors, who pay the club for the privilege of having their signs put up over our curling sheets. We wish the competitors well, and thank all of them for their generosity.

Editor Log In