Establishished 1903

Morrisburg Curling Club
22 Ontario Street
Morrisburg  ON   K0C 1X0

The day ladies were in Prescott for a friendly bonspiel. Alice Thompson won her match, but Susan McIntosh and Betty Locke’s teams lost. The Prescott day ladies have about the same numbers as our own, and it was great to see all three sheets in use. Everyone enjoyed the delicious spread afterwards, washed down with appropriate beverages. The Prescott ladies are invited back for March 14, 21 or 28 as they choose, and all of the women look forward to the event.

Also, the senior men were back in Winchester for a friendly bonspiel, and the talented but very friendly Winchester fellows lost all three matches. We listed our team players last time, but Maurice Kolff was the only one with all of his regular men. Len Bellamy took over for Jack Barkley, his skip, and led Ken Paice, Pete Byvelds and Jim Adams to victory. Neil Williams replaced John Allison on the third team, curling with Larry Ware, Bill Simmons and Hans Verbruggen. Well done, fellows!

Two of our senior men’s teams competed in the McClelland Cup Friday in Cornwall. Pete Zeran, Earl Jeacle, Sam Locke and John Gove played both Prescott teams, losing to one and tying the other.  Our other team was Jack Barkley, Dave King, Doug Jarvis and Rick Mackenzie. They won both of their matches against Cornwall teams, finishing in first place. An error in calculation of results was corrected and Morrisburg was confirmed as being tied with Prescott for the trophy. This was the first such finish recorded, and the fellows decided against going out on the ice again to break the tie. It was a great day. Congratulations to all!

We hosted a bantam bonspiel on Saturday, and we’ll have little rockers here next Saturday. In that event, the two top teams advance to the zone championships at the Rideau Club.

In the bantam spiel, there were two teams each from Russell, Winchester, Metcalfe and Morrisburg. Our curlerss were Anaka Gibbons, Abby Trisiski, Erin Gibbons and Christian Meuller, as well as Rhiannon Beckstead, Alexis Grenkie, Debbie Milewski and Hannah Gibbons. In the round robin, Russell defeated Morrisburg, Metcalfe won over Winchester, Morrisburg beat Winchester and Russell tied Metcalfe. With the dust settled our two Morrisburg teams met in the “B” final, while the “A” final featured Metcalfe vs. Winchester. Rhiannon’s foursome won the “B” title, while Winchester took the “A” championship. It was a day of top-notch curling.

Editor Log In